Skip to product information
1 of 1


Lark Rise to Candleford

Lark Rise to Candleford

Regular price £8.99 GBP
Regular price £9.99 GBP Sale price £8.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

by Thompson, Flora, Mabey, Richard | Fiction & related items
Published 04/12/2008 by Penguin Books Ltd (Penguin Classics) in the United Kingdom as part of the Penguin Modern Classics series
Paperback | 544 pages
197 x 130 x 24mm | 380g

Flora Thompson's immortal trilogy, containing 'Lark Rise', 'Over To Candleford' and 'Candleford Green', is a heartwarming portrayal of country life at the close of the 19th century. This story of three closely related Oxfordshire communities - a hamlet, the nearby village and a small market town - is based on the author's experiences during childhood and youth. It chronicles May Day celebrations and forgotten children's games, the daily lives of farmworkers and craftsmen, friends and relations - all painted with a gaiety and freshness of observation that make this trilogy an evocative and sensitive memorial to Victorian rural England.

With a new introduction by Richard Mabey

View full details