Skip to product information
1 of 1

THE CLEEVE BOOKSHOP LTD

Black Drop : the Sunday Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month

Black Drop : the Sunday Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month

Regular price £8.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £8.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

by Nattrass, Leonora | Fiction & related items
Published 12/05/2022 by Profile Books Ltd (Viper) in the United Kingdom as part of the Laurence Jago series
Paperback | 416 pages
129 x 197 x 29mm | 328g


* A TIMES HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR ** SUNDAY TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH ** LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN *'One of the best debuts of the year' - THE TIMES'As nimbly realised as by the genre's master, Andrew Taylor' - FINANCIAL TIMES'Black Drop is a joy from start to finish' - ANDREW TAYLORThis is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Spy.

July 1794, and London is filled with rumours of revolution. The war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with America are on a knife edge.

Laurence Jago, Foreign Office clerk, is ever more reliant on opium - the Black Drop - to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter, whose contents could lead to the destruction of the British Army, has been leaked to the press and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk - a supposed suicide - and it seems clear where the blame truly lies.

But Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, can Laurence find the true culprit without ending up on the gallows himself?A thrilling historical mystery, perfect for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd-Robinson.

'This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp' - JANICE HALLETT'A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction' - EMMA STONEX'A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics' - W.C. RYAN

View full details