Skip to product information
1 of 1

THE CLEEVE BOOKSHOP LTD

Promise Boys

Promise Boys

Regular price £8.72 GBP
Regular price £8.99 GBP Sale price £8.72 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

by Brooks, Nick | Children's, young adult & educational
Published 02/02/2023 by PAN MACMILLAN (Macmillan) in the United Kingdom
Paperback | 304 pages
130 x 197 x 20mm | 216g


Nick Brooks's Promise Boys is a trailblazing, blockbuster YA mystery about three teen boys of colour who must investigate their principal's murder to clear their own names. For fans of Angie Thomas, Jason Reynolds, and Karen McManus.

The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramon, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious 'program's' strict rules. Extreme discipline, they've been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives.

But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them?This gripping thriller shines a glaring light on how the system too often condemns Black and Latinx teen boys to failure before they've even had a chance at success.

'Thrilling . . . Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page' - Karen M. McManus, author of One of Us Is Lying

View full details