Skip to product information
1 of 1

THE CLEEVE BOOKSHOP LTD

The Man in Black : A compelling, twisty historical crime novel

The Man in Black : A compelling, twisty historical crime novel

Regular price £8.49 GBP
Regular price £9.99 GBP Sale price £8.49 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

by Shepherd, Lynn | Fiction & related items
Published 09/06/2022 by Canelo in the United Kingdom as part of the Detective Charles Maddox series
Paperback | 400 pages
128 x 198 x 28mm | 284g


'A grisly period detective story.' The TimesLondon, 1850: The Dickensian streets grow darker by the day.

Private investigator Charles Maddox is surprised when he is approached by Edward Tulkinghorn for help. The feared and shadowy attorney offers Charles a handsome price he can't refuse to do some sleuthing for a client. Charles learns that Sir Julius Cremorne has been receiving threatening letters, and now Tulkinghorn wants him to find and stop whoever is responsible.

But what starts as a simple, open-and-shut case swiftly escalates into something bigger and much darker. As he cascades toward a collision with powerful forces, Charles will need all the assistance he can get...

The Man in Black takes a classic Charles Dickens novel and plummets readers into a newly reimagined and mysterious world. Fans of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and Stacey Halls will love this.

Previously published as The Solitary House.

Readers are loving The Man in Black:'An intelligent and gripping post-modern crime novel. Beautifully written and cleverly plotted.' Lancashire Post'You'll be guaranteed to enjoy.' Guardian 'This is a wonderful mystery... It has a dark Victorian tone, and is a gripping story. If you like literary historical mysteries, this is for you.' Reader Review '

View full details