Skip to product information
1 of 1

THE CLEEVE BOOKSHOP LTD

Costanza - Signed First Edition

Costanza - Signed First Edition

Regular price £16.99 GBP
Regular price £18.99 GBP Sale price £16.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

by Blackmore, Rachel | Historical fiction
Published 01/08/2024 by Dialogue (Renegade Books) in the United Kingdom
Hardback | 432 pages
240 x 156mm | 0g


Signed First Edition - Hardback - Publishes August 1st

'From the first page I was hooked. Love, lust, fury and betrayal leap from the page. This is a must-read for anyone who wants to read a true feminist retelling' LOUISE HARE

'I loved it... Rich and evocative in its portrayal of 17th Century Rome. A fabulous, evocative novel' ELIZABETH CHADWICK

Rome, 1636. History calls her a Muse. Temptress. Fallen woman. This is her story.

In the scorched city of Rome, the cobbled streets hum with gossip and sin. Costanza Piccolomini is a respectable young wife - until she meets Gianlorenzo Bernini, the famed sculptor and star of Roman society, whose jet-black gaze matches his dark temper. From the second they set eyes upon each other, a fatal attraction is born.

Their secret love burns with a passion that consumes them. But with every stolen kiss and illicit tryst, Costanza's reputation is at stake. Meanwhile, Bernini has a dangerous desire: he wants to make Costanza immortal. He vows to possess her not just in body and soul, but also in marble.

When Bernini unveils his sculpture of Costanza, she is exposed as his lover, marking the undoing of their affair - and the beginning of a scandal which will rock Roman society. For Bernini would rather destroy Costanza than let her go.

Betrayed. Abandoned. Banished. This was meant to be the end of Costanza's story. But Costanza is no ordinary woman: from the ashes, she will rise...

Based on a true story, Costanza is a dizzying and sensual historical novel that brings to life a feminist icon who has been written out of history. This utterly addictive tale of desire and betrayal is perfect for fans of The Marriage Portrait and The Miniaturist.


View full details